made: plant stand via abm

by evergreen&sweetpea

even though it isn’t anywhere close to being done, I really love my living room (most of the time). that being said, there are a few things that always make my day just sitting around looking pretty. both are from my boyfriend, and the one I’m sharing today he made me as a birthday present.

IMAG0238 (1)IMAG0234 (1) IMAG0237 (1)

it’s this plant stand, tutorial thanks to mandi. I think the tutorial was fairly easy to follow for my boyfriend, although he was in a bit of a hurry when he did it so it’s a little unsteady. on the carpet it is fine though. before he put it together I spray painted the pieces, two coats for everything. paint doesn’t really stick to the raw edges of the circles and ends of the long pieces, but I actually like that it has the natural accents. the plant on the top is an african violet in a pyrex bowl I found at a flea market, and on the bottom is an aloe vera plant from my local ingles. they’re both doing really well in the indirect light, and I don’t water either of them very often. also pictured is a kitty toy, my area rug, some diy-ed art/old pictures, and my grandparents’ console (“vintage” I suppose) that I repainted earlier this year.

sometimes I can get really frantic and caught up in trying to decorate everything all at once (usually when inspiration strikes after looking at other peoples’ homes), but I’m trying to have the self control to hold off on any more major pieces until I move to a more permanent home. plus my style changes so often that I need to save up for the classic big pieces rather than snatching up lots of cute details that I’ll end up changing out. life lessons, I guess 🙂